Reviews

Here are the latest reviews from customers who have visited The Anchor Inn…

tripadvisor review

Best fish and chips

“With the sun shining what more could we ask for this bank holiday Monday. The place was busy which is good to see, so turn up early to grab a spot outside, and be prepared to wait a little bit longer for food…but it’s worth it. This was our first visit this year and we had the best fish and chips we’ve ever had, some new staff behind the bar as well as a new manager and chef. A welcome change, All very friendly and willing to help…. We WILL be back.” Colchester,  May 2014. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Pub by the river – lovely

“Just had a very nice lunch with my husband and cousin in this lovely pub in a tranquil spot by the river. The food was great and very well presented. Staff attentive and extremely helpful. Would love to go back – make sure you order the chips they were amazing!” London, May 2014. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Great food and service

“Excellent choice and value for food and drinks. Service was friendly and quick. Beautiful location. Family friendly.” Northampton, April 2014. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Don’t miss this

“Lovely country pub on a quiet stretch of the river Stour. Usual mix of merry locals and visitors. Sat here on a busy Friday night enjoying the perfect rib eye steak and chunky fries -beautifully cooked. Check this place out for daytime and night time leisurely food and drinks combined with occasional live music and outdoor BBQ events in particular. Bring your canoe and make this the start of a waterborne pub crawl between here and Mannjngtree – it has a pontoon!” London, April 2014. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Great Sunday Lunch

“We have been a couple of times now and thorougly enjoy the atmosphere and customer service. This visit was a Sunday lunch with friends, the food was very good and we were made very welcome. Great place for a relaxed lunch and we will definitely be back.” Colchester, February 2014. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Lovely food not expensive

Took my girlfriend here on valentines night was a bit early the waitress took us upstairs sat us down made us feel very welcome we had starters, mains and drinks food was lovely very nice nice setting would definitely recommend and would visit again” Clacton on Sea, February 2014. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

A family outing

“Another trip out for a meal with the family, including grandaughter (picky eater). We opted for the roast lunch (g/d for the homemade burger from the children’s menu).
Service was prompt and attentive and on the good side of generous plus my pork came with a “healthy” portion of crackling (I hate receiving my roast pork accompanied by “sorry we’ve run out of crackling” – others please note !!)
Offers of desert had to be declined by all except g/d, and we all watched her demolish a portion of the homemade icecreams (which she enjoyed enormously and was invited to visit the chef to deliver her opinion)”
Colchester, April 2013. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

One to drive out for

“This is a great place to eat or enjoy a drink by the river. The interior is very comfortable and lively. The food is exceptionally good and they have their own smokehouse. We will definitely return next time we are in East Anglia. Brilliant.” Manchester, April 2013. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Good food, good service, lovely pub

“I visited with family in tow for Sunday lunch. We rang up to book Sunday morning, and were delighted to get a table.

There is a small car park, but plenty of on-toad parking. There is a river which I am sure is fantastic in the summer. Once we sat down we were offered paper and pens for the children – always a nice touch.

The food was delicious – roast pork with crackling, roast chicken, mini scotch eggs with black pudding – all were great and the menu was full of tempting food.

Service was prompt, although as the place got busier we did wait slightly longer. Beer was well kept and served well.

Overall – a great place for Sunday lunch.” Cambridge, March 2013. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Cold night, warm fire

“Lovely welcoming, friendly staff. Interesting varied menu & wine list. The smoked fish starter was was delicious & HUGE. Intended trying another restaurant on our 2nd evening in the area but went back to The Anchor again it was so enjoyable.” Barnstaple, February 2013. See Tripadvisor review »

tripadvisor review

Lovely food, staff and pub

I have just been to the Anchor Inn with my friends who live in Nayland. I live in France so am used to good food. I found the Anchor Inn to be on par to many places I have eaten in France. I particularly enjoyed ‘Burger and chips’ so very tasty….Well worth it, staff friendly, atmosphere great with the roaring log fire what more could you ask……I look forward to sampling more delight on my next visit there. Bouzic, France November 2012. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Fantastic food and super service

“We attended as a party of 8, 4 adults and 4 kids (ages 4-7), on a Sunday evening as we were staying on a farm just up the road. The restaurant should not have been open on Sunday evening but accomodated us perfectly. We were put in a private dining room upstairs which meant that, as parents, we did not have to worry too much about our children impacting on fellow diners enjoyment! We were never forgotten about as the service was prompt and regular, food was fantastic and we walked away with a really positive vibe.

Decor is modern and clean and a lovely atmosphere. We would really recommend it and definitely would go out of our way to make a return trip if in the area.” St Albans, November 2012. See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Great location fabulous food

“We have been able to enjoy eating out recently as “the children” are at Uni or travel so it’s off to the pub. The Anchor has recently changed hands and after a period of settling in and re decorating it is now even better then before. The location by the river is wonderful and the choice of places to sit and enjoy either a drink or a meal is good. The menu choice is excellent and varies depending on food available locally. I am not a fancy foodie and there are always good, well cooked regular choices, plus daily specials which my husband loves. I especially love the fish and chips! My husband definitely loves everything and this week had whitebait followed by roasted cod. The previous week we had gone to their steak night and had the most amazing Chateaubriand. We had preordered it as they usually only have one of those but there are plenty of other steaks to choose from. We did take one of the boys and for him it was one of those amazing times that he thinks he will remember forever!
There is a good choice of drinks; I like the Prosecco, which I can have by the glass and some great wines. I do recommend here as a great place for couples or families and they are not silly prices.”
Nayland, November 2012. See Tripadvisor review »

tripadvisor review

A pleasant evening

“The Anchor is situated in a pleasant location by the river. We had a nice Sunday evening there (many places not doing food) and can recommend the service and ambiance. Very solid.” NA, See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Beautiful Country Inn

“Absolute gem this pub is full of character and the food is excellent. I understand the kitchen team are new but the menu was superb with a mix of pub classics and very modern british dishes – try the saddle of rabbit or herb crusted lamb – both fantastic!” St Ives, See Tripadvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

my 30th birthday

“Had my 30th birthday meal for 32 people at the anchor on the 27th july 2012. cannot fault anything. Food cooked by some talented chefs was amazing and the service was second to none. Great place to eat or drink for big parties or a table of 2. Would go back in a heartbeat – thanks to all that made our night so good.” Colchester, July 2012, See TripAdvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Welcoming Inn

“We attended a few times and enjoyed good food and staff very helpful.” Keighley, June 2012, See TripAdvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

A Gem!

“Lovely food, great setting and a walk by the river to end a lovely day” Peterborough, June 2012, See TripAdvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Loved it!

“Ended up here after another pub was too busy. So glad! Great food agreed by everyone, the duck and steak were perfect. Happy, helpful service – lovely setting by the river. Great place to go…” June 2012, See TripAdvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

Nice Refurb

“Just popped in for a drink on our way to the sister establishment the Angel. Great location, just refurbed in heritage colours, nice calm atmosphere, eclectic seating, fresh flower, log fire even in June. Menu looked good value for money. Impressed.” Leigh on Sea, June 2012, See TripAdvisor Review »

tripadvisor review

New Ownership and a new future

“Visited for dinner a week after the opening following a refurb. New owners, new staff and a bright, new restaurant. Food superb, service attentive, caring and welcoming. Decor, comfortable and pleasant. Menu is varied and inventive with some very good options. Very enjoyable evening in a lovely setting. Looking forward to going back again soon.” Suffolk, May 2012, See TripAdvisor Review »